BlueRibbonThe 3M Award for ‘Innovation in Libraries’ is a prestigious peer voted award that has been sponsored by 3M New Zealand Ltd in conjunction with LIANZA since 1996. It highlights the stellar work done in New Zealand libraries.

Voting is by Conference delegates who will have received an email from Conference Innovators with a link to the voting page.  Voting closes 2.30pm Monday 12 October.

But everyone can view the finalists’ powerpoint presentations and feel proud of the smart thinking and innovation taking place in our own backyard. The 2009 finalists are:

The finalists will show their presentations at Conference, 11.45am on Monday 12 October and the winner will be announced at the LIANZA Awards

 3M Award for Innovation – Previous Trophy Winners
1996 – Information Services – Special Education Service Cost effective CD-ROM Database Distribution project
1997 – Hama Whakapapa Restoration and Research Database project
1998 – Auckland War Memorial Museum Library Cenotaph database project
1999 – Christchurch College of Education NZEdSearch
2000 – Horowhenua Library Trust Koha – a free library Web based database
2001 – Southland Boys’ High School Real Men Read Books
2002 – Manukau City Libraries Tupu – Dawson Road Youth Library project
2003 – Parliamentary Library Infocus
2004 – Puke Ariki Taranaki Information Network
2005 – National Library with Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch and Manukau Public Libraries AnyQuestions
2006 – eLGAR – Auckland City, Waitakere, Rodney, North Shore and Manukau Libraries Smarter Systems Project
2007 – Horowhenua Library Trust Kete Horowhenua
2008 – Massey University Library Connecting Virtually With Our Students