Flying into Heathrow...

Flying into Heathrow...

Hi, my name is Libby Church. And I’m in London. Having the best time of my life…

I don’t know if you have registered yet for the LIANZA 2009 Conference, or think you will – but I just want to say a few words about how much fun going to a Conference is, and how it has changed my life. I, like many of you, love my job as a Librarian – all that interacting with books, people and knowledge. So inspiring! But lately I had been feeling down on myself. My boyfriend dumped me, my career was going nowhere, a new pimple had just appeared on the end of my nose…and that’s when a colleague suggested: “Have you thought about applying to go to a Conference?”

So I thought about it. What would going to a Conference do for me? Actually, plenty. For a start, I’d get out of the city for a while, away from that evil ex-boyfriend of mine. I’d be travelling, expenses (mostly) paid to a new place I’d never been before. I’d find out what’s happening on the cutting edge of my profession. Plus it would look great on my resume once I’d got back home. And – I’d meet colleagues in my field, heck maybe even befriend one or two. And who’s to say I might not meet a sexy young man to replace the old one? Strange things happen when you’re on Conference. As I’m finding out! I’ve just landed at Heathrow Airport, ready for a Conference at the British Library, then off to Paris for a Conference at La Bibliothèque nationale de France. Applying for the grant to go was a bit nerve-wracking, but not nearly as hard as I thought. I’m seriously going to apply for LIANZA Conference 2009 too – I will see y’all there!
In the meantime, check me out on facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/people/Libby-Church/1318458549

